Book Review of: Self-Publishing and Email Marketing by Bryan Cohen

Full title: Self-Publishing and Email Marketing: How to Create and Optimize a Reader Newsletter to Find New Fans, Gather More Reviews, and Sell More Books by Bryan Cohen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A practical and easy-to-understand springboard for any author wanting to dive into email marketing.

This is a hands-on manual that will teach you the fundamentals of email marketing and the things you didn’t know you didn’t know. It’ll even tell you the things you don’t want to hear but need to hear.

Cohen sets up the book in a very novel way. Each chapter is bookended with a conversation between himself and a fictional character, Nina, whom he is coaching. Nina is an amalgamation of the multitudes of authors he has taught. She is a proxy for the reader. In her resistance to his teaching, I found my own doubts and fears being addressed.

The chapters are laid out logically, taking you through the reasons you must have an email list, how to set one up, grow it, and how to use it for years to come as you build your writing and publishing empire. Each chapter ends with exercises to help put what you learned into action.

I would recommend this book for independent and commercially published authors alike.

This was not necessarily the book I was looking for, but certainly the one that I needed. The book I was looking for does not exist, nor can it. I wanted something that was going to take me, click-by-click, on how to technically set up an email list. The reason why that can’t exist is because technology changes so fast that any book that professed to offer that, would be obsolete in a week.

Cohen’s book certainly does help with that. He covers where you can go to get a domain name, a professional email server, and an email service provider. Even he admits that this is not easy in “Chapter Five: How to do I set up an email list without pulling out my hair?” in which he offers some practical advice on how to get through it.

I looked at a few books on email marketing for authors. I came down to this one and another one that is very popular and highly recommended. I went with Cohen’s because it was published more recently, and I had already known him to be a good teacher with good intentions through his 5-Day Author Ad Profit Challenge, which is FREE and I also recommend.

I trust him, and this book did not let me down. My email list is up and running as I write this. Please look me up and join if you like! https://subscribepage.io/EngdahlHouse I’m probably going to buy his book on Amazon Ads next.

View all my reviews

View Cohen’s book here:

Check out my latest here:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close